Art in Public Space Tyrol 2021

“The task is to make kin in lines of inventive connection as a practice of learning to live and die well with each other in a thick present. Our task is to make trouble, to stir up potent response to devastating events, as well as to settle troubled waters and rebuild quiet places.”

Donna Haraway

Our route into the 21st century has been marked by political, social and economic upheavals, shifts and changes. There – by, a supposedly paradisiacal past is frequently confronted with a seemingly apocalyptic future. In this prevailing mood of polarization, it is all the more important to make the di – versity and complexity of our present society visible, forming alliances and entering into a certain complicity. In her book “Staying with the Trouble”, the US-American biologist, philosopher of science and literary scholar Donna Haraway sketches a mythologically grounded, different world in which the boundaries between humans, plants, animals and minerals become blurred and permeable. Starting out from this, Art in Public Space Tyrol 2021 will create spaces for experimentation and imagination, in which dividing lines can be broken open – making it possible to enter into symbioses, co-existences and community relationships in our direct everyday environment.

Since 2008, the funding program Art in Public Space by the State of Tyrol has been implemented in cooperation with the Tyrolean Artists’ Association, and financed by the State of Tyrol. For the year 2021, it is being announced for the first time under a thematic focus defined by the Tyrolean Artists’ Association. A total of 138 submissions from international artists were received, from which the independent jury of experts – consisting of Katharina Brandl (Artistic Director Kunstraum Niederoesterreich, Vienna / Basel), Christoph Hinterhuber (artist, Innsbruck) and Anne Duk Hee Jordan (artist, Berlin) – selected three projects.

Artistic Director: Petra Poelzl
Team: Cornelia Reinisch-Hofmann, Severin Sonnewend
Design: fertig design GbR

Many thanks to: Dr.in Isabelle Brandauer, Cornelia Dilp, Maria Holoubek, Dr.in Melanie Wiener